Hungry Point Reserve is a Crown Reserve and in 2012 the Hungry Point Reserve Land Manager was appointed to oversee the reserve following its closure as Australia’s first Fisheries Research Centre.

The biographical details of the current members of the committee are:

John Rayner PSM (chairman) 

Mr Rayner has significant experience as a senior executive in NSW local government and as a leader of complex organisations.

He has an in-depth understanding of the complexities, legalities, processes and environmental, social and economic aspects of planning and development; stakeholder management; building partnerships; and communicating with people across all levels of government, industry and the community.

Byron Hurst

Through his role as the chairman of the Hazelhurst Regional Art Gallery Board since 2001, Mr Hurst has proven experience in land / asset management, having lead the establishment and successful growth of a significant community asset in the shire.

As an independent councillor on Sutherland Shire Council from 1990 until 1998, Mr Hurst was involved in the upgrade of the Salmon Haul Reserve site, adjacent to the Hungry Point Reserve, and is subsequently familiar with the history and significance of the site.

Paul Kelly

Mr Kelly was a registered surveyor and holds a Bachelor of Surveying, Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts (Geography).

Mr Kelly has over 20 years’ experience as a (former) senior executive in Commonwealth and NSW government agencies.

As a government surveyor, Mr Kelly carried out a detailed survey of the site at Hungry Point when it was occupied by the CSIRO, before the handover to the NSW Government.

Professor Steven Kennelly

Steve is an fisheries scientist who worked at the Cronulla Fisheries Research Centre for over 25 years and was its Director for latter half of those years.

He has a PhD and a DSc and is an Adjunct Professor at Macquarie and Southern Cross Universities.

He now runs his own consulting company doing fisheries projects for various Australian governments, the US, the UN, the EU and others.

Peter Kerr AM

Mr Kerr has 15 years’ experience as a non-executive director of partly and wholly publicly funded organisations at the local, national and international level in a range of areas including health and sport.

Gaille McPhee

Ms McPhee had a long career with Qantas, which included senior roles requiring business and professional skills.

Ms McPhee is currently involved in a range of volunteer and community entities and is a life member and previous secretary of the Cronulla Triathlon Club (since 1988).

Dunstan de Souza

Mr de Souza is a practising solicitor and has experience as a non-executive director of a range of Not for Profit (NFP).

He is currently a board member of Civic Industries, a NFP supporting people with disabilities; and a member of the finance committee of St Aloysius Catholic Parish.

Mr Mark Aprilovic (ex-officio)

Mr Aprilovic is a local small business owner, with extensive experience in business planning and implementation. He has a strong commercial acumen and financial alertness.

Mr Aprilovic has held the position of president of the Cronulla Chamber of Commerce since 2010.

Cr Carol Provan (ex-officio)

Cr Provan is a long time shire resident and has been a small business owner operating, most recently, a local wedding and funeral celebrant.

Cr Provan has had been a councillor for a lengthy period, was twice elected Mayor (in 1988 and 2012) and has chaired various council committees.

Stacey Tannos (ex-officio)

Mr Tannos is a recognised leader in the field of emergency management with strategic experience in the provision of emergency services and particularly in disaster recovery management.

He has held the role of Commissioner & Chief Executive Office, Volunteer Marine Rescue NSW since 2011 and is responsible for the operations and management of Marine Rescue NSW, which has 3100 volunteer members.

Noeleen Timbery (ex-officio)

Ms Noeleen Timbery is the current chair of the La Perouse Local Aboriginal Land Council.

Bruce Watt (ex-officio)

Mr Watt has been president of the Sutherland Shire Historical Society since 2011 and represented the Society as a serving member of the Hungry Point Reserve Trust since its inception in 2013.

He is an historian and published author with specific knowledge of local Aboriginal history and culture.